Clearing 2021

Health and safety department contacts (HSLO / DHSO / DSE facilitators)


The Health and Safety PolicyThe Health and Safety PolicyThe Health and Safety Policy requires Heads of Department to appoint a Departmental Health and Safety Officer (DHSO) or Health and Safety Liaison Officer (HSLO) to advise and/or support them on health and safety related matters. They provide advice for staff on departmental health and safety procedures and can direct to specialist technical advice. DHSOs would generally be required in larger departments or those with higher or more complex risks.

Most departments and sections have a HSLO or DHSO. Some also have HSLOs for centres, units or teams within a department. If your department does not have a HSLO or DHSO, contact your Head of Department directly.

DSE facilitators

DSE facilitatorsDSE facilitatorsDSE facilitators are staff appointed by your department/section to help ensure that any actions arising from your DSE self-assessmentDSE self-assessmentDSE self-assessment are taken. If your department doesn't have a DSE facilitator please contact your Health and Safety Liaison Officer.


Each department and section has an allocated lead health and safety adviser from the Health and Safety Advisory Service (HSAS) to assist them.

Who to contact in your department

Below you will find the details of HSLOs/ DHSOs, DSE Facilitators and the lead Health and Safety Adviser for your department.


HSAS lead adviser

 Department HSLO / DHSO  DSE Facilitator 
Faculty team  Julie Storey 
Julie Storey 
East 15 Acting School  Loughton - Mark Spicer
Southend - Steve Owens

Loughton - TBC
Southend - Laura Collins

Edge Hotel School  TBA TBA
Essex Pathways Jayne Summers 
Kate Smith
Jayne Summers 
History Karen Shields
Karen Shields
Law Jamie Tuxford
Lorraine Pearce
Literature, Film and Theatre Studies Rachele Winn 
Antonio Vivas 
Philosophy and Art History Katherine Bailey
Katherine Bailey

Science and Health

HSAS lead adviser

Department  HSLO / DHSO DSE Facilitator
Faculty team  Ernie Simpson
Ernie Simpson
Computer Science and Electronic Engineering

Comp. Bldg:Louis Clift

Network Centre:
Nick Warren

Jordan Deer

Amy Turnbull

School of Health and Social Care HSLO: TBA
DHSO: Rebecca Hindle
Mathematical Sciences Claire Watts

Lesley Monk

Steven Brewer

Steven Brewer 
Sarah Brewer 
Elena Broggin 
Monika Steinke 
School of Life Sciences

David Knight
Gregor Grant 

David Knight
School of Sport, Rehabilitation and Exercise Science Hazel Cromer
Hazel Cromer

Social Sciences

HSAS lead adviser

Department  HSLO / DHSO  DSE Facilitator 
Faculty team  Nikki Jackson 
Jessica Lott
Economics  Christina Turner 
Jessica Lott
Essex Business School Louise Cattrall 
Southend - Emma Aldridge
Louise Cattrall 
Government Emma McClelland 
Jessica Lott
Institute for Social and Economic Research  Kim Bones 
Kim Bones 
Language and Linguistics  Tina Robertson
Jessica Lott
Psychosocial and Psychoanalytic Studies Debbie Stewart
Debbie Stewart / Jessica Lott
Sociology  Sheila Marrinan 
Sheila Marrinan / Jessica Lott
UK Data Archive  Kim Berry

Kim Berry
Susan Wood

Professional Services

Academic Section

Department HSLO / DHSO  DSE Facilitator 
Academic Section
Colchester Campus
Katie Finnemore
Academic Section
Loughton Campus
Fee Boon 
Academic Section
Southend Campus
Academic Services TBC Christine Strong  
Employability and Careers
(including Essex Abroad)
TBC Debbie Wilson 
Student Support

Communications and External Relations

Department  HSLO / DHSO DSE Facilitator 
Central Office 

Helen Amy

Zoe Keith

Helen Amy

Zoe Keith


Graduate Admission: Jess Mill

Undergraduate Admissions Richard Foster and Jess Mill

Graduate Admission: Jess Mill

Undergraduate Admissions Angela Pietz and Jess Mill

Advancement See Central Office See Central Office
Arts Theatre

Lauren Haubenschmid and Kanyinsola Olanrewaju

See Central Office
Communications See Central Office See Central Office
Marketing and Student Recruitment

Colchester - Amy Green

Southend - TBC

Colchester - Amy Green

Southend - 

Outreach Chris Snow
Chris Snow 

 NCOP Kimberly Lawrence  Kimberly Lawrence 

Estate Management

Department HSLO / DHSO DSE Facilitator 
Estate Management Tamsin Newman
Richard Green
Tamsin Newman
Southend - Jamie Burns
 Southend Business Hub  TBA TBA 


Campus HSLO/DHSO  DSE Facilitator 
Colchester Carol-Anne West Carol-Anne West
Southend Carol-Anne West TBC

Human Resources

Department HSLO / DHSO  DSE Facilitator
Human Resources Martin Press TBC
Organisational Development TBC TBC
Equality and Diversity TBC Andrea Munson
Workplace Health and Wellbeing Abigail Fletcher
Abigail Fletcher

IT Services

Campus HSLO/DHSO DSE Facilitator
Colchester TBA Gwen Howe
Southend   Matt Softly


HSLO/DHSO DSE Facilitator 
 Jacqui Randle  TBA

Research and Enterprise Office

HSLO/DHSO DSE Facilitator 
 Jacqui Taylor-Roberts  Jacqui Taylor-Roberts

Office of the Vice-Chancellor

HSLO/DHSO DSE Facilitator 
 Benita GanevaHelen Weekes  Tracey BarnesBenita Ganeva

UECS and Campus Services

HSAS lead adviser

Department HSLO / DHSO  DSE Facilitator 
Accommodation Essex
Angie Flynn
Louise Buxton
Sarah Crowther
Louise Buxton - Southend
Essex Food
Darren Tyers
Print Centre
Craig Kirkpatrick
Sport Essex
Scott Tatum
Linda Burton
Event Essex, iLabs and UECS Offices
Elisa Aylott

Wivenhoe House Hotel
Darren Baker
Wivenhoe Park Day Nursery Natalie Jones
Natalie Jones
Contact us
Contact us
Health and Safety Advisory Service
Telephone: 01206 872944