Faith support

Prayer and worship are happening online for some of our Faith groups. Contact the individual chaplain or representative for details. Times and events are published on the Faith Centre Facebook page where possible.

Please see the main University of Essex events page for details of all events including those linked to the Faith Centre.

Some of the Students' Union faith societies are also working to provide additional support to their members and others.

Colchester Campus

 Religion or denomination  Chaplain
Anglican (Christian) 

The Revd Sara Batts-Neale

sara.batts-neale@essex.ac.uk

07925 292175

Contact Sara for details of local Anglican churches. 

Buddhist

Amalaketu, amalaketu@rocketmail.com

Colchester Buddhist Centre

Catholic (Christian)

Father Mark Swires

mswires@essex.ac.uk

07843 758961

Chinese Christian Fellowship

Reverend Helen Wong and Pastor Stanley Wong

helenhungtwong@gmail.com and stanleyyatkwong@gmail.com

07907 366592 (Helen) and 07858 029381 (Stanley)

Friends International

Enoch Kunarajah - eakuna@essex.ac.uk

Ying Ping Wong - yw18430@essex.ac.uk

Islamic Islamic Society
Jewish Rabbi Elazar elazar@mychaplaincy.co.uk and University Jewish Chaplaincy
Methodist (Christian)

Rev John Allison - jallison@essex.ac.uk 01206 250465

Mr Phil Bingham - philbingham2000@yahoo.co.uk 01206 824267

Wivenhoe Methodist Church

Orthodox Christian

Mark Shillaker

mark.shillaker@gmail.com

07917 161295

Quaker

Ecky Prolingheuer 

ep18492@essex.ac.uk

There is further information about the chaplainschaplainschaplains and the religions and groups they represent.

Loughton Campus

Information about faith services in Loughtonfaith services in Loughtonfaith services in Loughton.

Southend Campus

Denomination Chaplain
Christian Rev Jim Kilpin uoeschap@essex.ac.uk 07813 247467
Catholic (Christian) Fr Mark Swires mswires@essex.ac.uk 07843 758961