Departmental Disability Liaison Officers (DDLO)

The Departmental Disability Liaison Officer (DDLO) is a direct link for you between the Student Services Hub and your department. They can help make sure that the Disability Service know about any adjustments you need.

Department Disability Liaison Officer Phone Email
Computing and Electronic Systems Francisco Sepulveda 01206 874151 f.sepulveda@essex.ac.uk
East 15, Loughton Emma Hankin 020 8418 7328 eh21791@essex.ac.uk
East 15, Southend Emma Webb 01702 328327 ew20885@essex.ac.uk
Economics

Yongli Wang 

01206 874388 yw19798@essex.ac.uk
Edge Hotel School Dimitri Lera 01206 874684 ldimit@essex.ac.uk
Essex Abroad Katherine Dickerson 01206 872715
kd18488@essex.ac.uk
Essex Business School, Colchester Hugh Kilmister 01206 872558 hk19689@essex.ac.uk
Essex Business School, Southend Manuela Nocker 01702 328397 mnocker@essex.ac.uk
Essex Pathways Department Anyarath Kitwiwattanchai (Sciences, Business, Economics)
Victoria Allen-Baume (Humanities, Social Sciences, Law)
01206 874541
01206 872231
akitwi@essex.ac.uk
v.allen-baume@essex.ac.uk
Government Hersh Mann 01206 873238 governmentddlo@essex.ac.uk
Health and Social Care, Colchester Natalie Cowan 01206 878417 njcowa@essex.ac.uk
Health and Social Care, Southend Natalie Cowan 01206 878417 njcowa@essex.ac.uk
History

Term 1: Peter Gurney
Term 2 and 3: Felix Schnell

01206 873946

01206 872226

pjgurney@essex.ac.uk

fschnell@essex.ac.uk

 
Interdisciplinary Studies Centre

Term 1: Fiona Hughes
Term 2 and 3: Steve Gormley

01206 872718
01206 872709

fhughes@essex.ac.uk 
segorm@essex.ac.uk

Language and Linguistics Term1: Enam Al-Wer
Terms 2 and 3: Rebecca Clift
01206 872240
01206 872888
enama@essex.ac.uk
rclift@essex.ac.uk
Law and Human Rights Bev Jackson 01206 872796
bjackson@essex.ac.uk
Life Sciences Phil Reeves 01206 873763  preeves@essex.ac.uk
Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies Term 1: Jordan Savage 01206 874135 jksava@essex.ac.uk
Mathematical Sciences Peter Higgins 01206 873019 peteh@essex.ac.uk
Philosophy and Art History

Term 1: Fiona Hughes
Terms 2 & 3: Steve Gormley

01206 872718
01206 872709

fhughes@essex.ac.uk
segorm@essex.ac.uk

Psychology Tracy Robinson 01206 874134 tracy@essex.ac.uk
Psychosocial and Psychoanalytic Studies Debbie Wright 01206 872921 dlswri@essex.ac.uk
Sociology Hasnain Qayyum 01206 873743
hqayyu@essex.ac.uk
Sport, Rehabilitation and Exercise Sciences Andrew Hammond 01206 872897 andrew.hammond@essex.ac.uk

Role of the Departmental Disability Liaison Officer

The Departmental Disability Liaison Officer:

  • has a knowledge of the subject area you are studying and the structure of the department
  • can provide advice about the University’s specialist support services
  • can act as a link between the department and the Student Services Hub
  • is available if you wish to disclose or initially discuss your needs with them
  • can liaise with lecturers if you are worried, or embarrassed, about talking to them about disability related difficulties
  • can assist if you feel the reasonable adjustments recommended are not being implemented by the department
  • can provide advice if you are experiencing problems with your academic progress as a result of a permanent or temporary disability, medical condition or specific learning difficulty and who will be able to find out about the options available to you
  • will listen to your concerns confidentially

Section Disability Liaison Officers

In addition to Departmental Liaison Officers the following sections have appointed a Section Disability Liaison Officer you can contact to discuss disability related issues.

Role of the Section Disability Liaison Officer

The Section Disability Liaison Officer:

  • has a knowledge of the relevant section’s policies and procedures
  • can act as a link between the section and the Student Services Hub; you can disclose, or discuss your needs, confidentially to them
  • can liaise with members of staff in the section, if appropriate, about students’ disability related difficulties
  • can assist if you feel the reasonable adjustments recommended are not being implemented by the section
Student Services Hub
Need help?

If you need any further help and advice, please contact or visit the Student Services Hub who will be happy to assist you.