View of Colchester Campus lake
Senate is the supreme academic authority of the University and is accountable to Council.

The role of Senate is to promote the academic work of the University both in teaching and research and regulate and supervise education and student discipline. It has 57 members, including Deans, heads of department and student representatives, and is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor.

The membership, functions and operations of the Senate are governed by Ordinances 13 - 19 (.pdf), which came into effect on 1 August 2007.

Meetings of Senate 2019-20

  • Wednesday 30 October 2019
  • Wednesday 22 January 2020
  • Wednesday 29 April 2020
  • Wednesday 24 June 2020

Meeting minutes

The membership of Senate

The membership of Senate is defined by Ordinance 13. There are 16 elected members, at least nine of whom must be in non-professorial posts at the time of election. The term of office of elected members of the Senate is four years and elected members may stand for consecutive terms (S.M.151/06).

Outcome of Senate Election

The deadline for the nomination to the vacancy for the Membership of Senate closed on Friday 20 March at 5pm for one vacancy. One nomination was received by the deadline, therefore Marcin Rudy has been duly appointed to the membership of Senate from 2020-21 to 2023-24.

Successful candidates

Successful candidates will be required to complete all modules of the Essential Training Policy, prior to attendance at the first meeting of the academic year.

Senate Election to the membership of Honorary Degrees and Honorary Fellowships Committee (HDHFC) 2019-2020 to 2021-2022 (3 year term)

Nominations closed for the vacancy of a Senate representative from the Faculty of Social Sciences on Monday 24 February 2020, one nomination was received by the deadline, therefore Professor John Bartle is duly appointed.

Summary of academic policy decisions

The Academic Section produces a termly summary of academic policy decisions. This includes policy decisions taken by Education Committee, Academic Quality and Standards Committee and Senate in the relevant term.

Get in touch
Emma Hardy  Director of Academic Services
University of Essex, Wivenhoe Park, Colchester, Essex, CO4 3SQ
Telephone: 01206 872989