Senate is the supreme academic authority of the University and is accountable to Council.

The role of Senate is to promote the academic work of the University both in teaching and research and regulate and supervise education and student discipline. It has 57 members, including Deans, heads of department and student representatives, and is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor.

The membership, functions and operations of the Senate are governed by Ordinances 13 - 19 (.pdf), which came into effect on 1 August 2007.

Meetings of Senate 2022-2023

  • Wednesday 2 November 2022
  • Wednesday 25 January 2023
  • Wednesday 26 April 2023
  • Wednesday 28 June 2023

Joint meeting of Senate and Council

  • Thursday 13 July 2023

Meeting minutes

Election to Honorary Degrees and Honorary Fellowships Committee 2022-23 to 2024-25


Nominees must be a member of Senate and in the Faculty of Arts and Humanities in the academic year 2022-23. 

Nomination forms must be signed by the nominee and by two electors, one of whom must be from a department/school different from that of the nominee. Nominees are requested to give a brief biography and statement in support of their nomination in not more than 350 words on the pro-forma on the second page of the nomination form.

Candidate will be required to complete and submit an equality and diversity monitoring form and a register of interest declaration with their nomination form.

The closing date for nominations is Tuesday 15 November 2022. Nominations must reach by 5pm on that date.


Ballot papers must be completed online, by no later than noon on Wednesday 7 December 2022.

Date of election

The date of the election shall be Wednesday 7 December 2022.

Successful candidates

The successful candidates will be required to complete all the Essential Training as set out in the Essential Training Policy for Committee Members prior to the first meeting taking place.

The successful candidate will be required to submit a personal details form upon appointment.

Senate elected members

Current elected members of the Senate


  • Professor Rossella Argenziano - Economics
  • Professor Katharine Cockin - Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies
  • Professor Edward Codling - Mathematical Sciences
  • Fiona Elsted - Essex Pathways (1)
  • Professor Theodore Konstadinides - Essex Law School
  • Dr Clotilde Pegorier - Essex Law School
  • Dr Steven Shukaitis - Essex Business School


  • Marcin Rudy – East 15


  • Professor Thankom Arun - Essex Business School
  • Dr Winifred Eboh - School of Health and Social Care
  • Dr Emily Jones - Essex Law School (2)
  • Dr Rick O’Gorman - Department of Psychology
  • Dr Róisín Ryan-Flood - Department of Sociology


  • Dr Hannah Gibson - Department of Language and Linguistics
  • Dr Raynee Gutting - Essex Pathways
  • Dr Laurie James-Hawkins - Department of Sociology
  • Dr Ruth Lowry - School of Sport, Rehabilitation and Exercise Sciences
  • Dr Georgi Grahovski - Department of Mathematical Sciences (3)

(1) Appointed to Head of Department from August 2022

(2) Until 31 December 2022

(3)  From 1 January 2023


Get in touch
Emma Hardy  Deputy Academic Registrar
University of Essex, Wivenhoe Park, Colchester, Essex, CO4 3SQ
Telephone: 01206 872989