Exam dates and timetables

The Excel files below are general exam timetables that indicate when an exam is running. They do not give you your room or seat number or indicate any individual arrangements you may have, such as extra time. This information appears on your personal exam timetable and exam entry form, which is published on the dates listed in the final column.

It is your responsibility to check the dates and times of your examinations. Dates are subject to change. If changes are made following the publication of your personal exam timetable, this will be communicated via email to your Essex email account.

Exam period Exam dates Exam timetable
Essex Abroad (incoming) part year students Monday 16 December 2019 – Friday 20 December 2019 Timetable (.xlsx)

Christmas Vacation exams:

  • Life Sciences PGT resit exams
  • Life Sciences and SRES MCQ
  • CSEE Stage 1 autumn term module exams
  • MBA exams
  • Psychology Stage 2 and 3 autumn term module exams
  • Essex Pathways Department: International Diploma exams
  • Essex Business School: BE413 and BE515
Monday 6 January 2020 – Saturday 11 January 2020* Timetable (.xlsx)
Early exams
(including Life Sciences and SRES MCQ)
Monday 20 April 2020 – Thursday 7 May 2020 Published on Friday 20 March 2020 at 5pm
Summer exams (Colchester) Monday 11 May 2020 – Friday 5 June 2020 (including Saturday 16 May, Saturday 23 May and Saturday 30 May) Published on Friday 20 March 2020 at 5pm
Summer exams (Southend) Monday 11 May 2020 – Friday 5 June 2020 (including Saturday 16 May, Saturday 23 May and Saturday 30 May) Published on Friday 20 March 2020 at 5pm
Resit exams** Tuesday 1 September 2020 – Friday 11 September 2020 Published on Friday 31 July 2020 at 5pm

*Exams will run on Saturday 11 January only if it is not possible to run them during the week of Monday 6 January - Friday 10 January. Please keep this Saturday available for exams until your personal exam timetable has been confirmed and published.

**Students may resit exams only when required to do so by the Board of Examiners

Contact us
Contact us
Student Services Hub
Exams Office