Exam dates and timetables

All centrally-organised exams in 2021-22 will be online by default. Where, by exception, you are to be assessed by an exam/assessment that will be held in person, your department will notify you before the end of the autumn term.

When the exam timetable is published, a link to an Excel file will be shown in the table below - this is the general timetable that shows when an exam is running. At the same time that this Excel timetable is published, a link to your personal exam timetable will be sent to your Essex email account. This will include any individual arrangements you may have, such as extra time. For online exams, your personal exam timetable will include the link to the relevant platform (FASER, Moodle or Perception). Where exams are held on campus, it will show your room and seat number instead - and you will also be able to download your exam entry form, which you will need to print and take to every on-campus exam.

It is your responsibility to check the dates and times of your examinations. Dates are subject to change. If changes are made following the publication of your personal exam timetable, this will be communicated via email to your Essex email account.

Exam dates 2021-22

Exam period Exam dates Exam timetable

Christmas Vacation exams:

  • Exams for students who are trailing reassessment 
  • CSEE Year 1 autumn term module exams
  • Economics postgraduate module exams
  • Essex Business School exam for BE487
  • Essex Pathways International Diploma exams
  • HSC Year 1 exams
  • Law Year 1 and 2 French Law module exams
  • Life Sciences Year 1 and 2 autumn term module exams and MCQs
  • Psychology Year 2 and 3 autumn term module exams
  • SRES Year 1 and 2 autumn term module exams and MCQs
  • All exams for Essex Abroad (incoming) autumn term only students
  • Resit exams for CSEE MSc courses that started in January 2021 - summer term modules
  • Resit exams for Mathematical Sciences MSc courses that started in January 2021
  • Mathematical Sciences Year 1 and 2 resit tests
  • First sit exams for Law MSc courses that started in January 2021 - autumn term modules (except BE283, which runs in week commencing 13 December 2021 and is organised and delivered by the School of Law)
  • Resit exams for Law MSc courses that started in January 2021 - spring term modules.
Tuesday 4 January 2022 – Friday 14 January 2022 (including Saturday 8 January)* Timetable (.xlsx)
Early exams
(including Life Sciences and SRES MCQs)
Monday 25 April 2022 – Friday 13 May 2022 Timetable (.xlsx)
Summer exams

Monday 16 May 2022 – Friday 10 June 2022 (including Saturday 21 May, Saturday 28 May and Saturday 4 June)

Timetable (.xlsx)

Resit exams**

Plus first sit exams for CSEE MSc courses that started in January 2022 (summer term modules).

Monday 22 August 2022 – Friday 16 September 2022 (including Saturday 27 August, Saturday 3 September and Saturday 10 September) Wednesday 3 August 2022 at 3pm

*Exams may run on Saturday 8 January if it is not possible to schedule them on weekdays. Please keep this Saturday available for exams until your personal exam timetable has been confirmed and published.

**Students may resit exams only when invited or required to do so by the Board of Examiners.

 

Exam dates 2022-23

Exam period Exam dates Exam timetable

Study Abroad exams

These exams are for incoming Essex Abroad students who are studying at Essex for the autumn term only.

  • Modules with in-person exams (on campus): Monday 19 December 2022 - Thursday 22 December 2022
  • Modules with online exams (can be taken from any location with an internet connection): Tuesday 3 January 2023 - Friday 13 January 2023 (including Saturday 7 January)*

If you are not sure whether your exam is in-person or online, please ask your Department or lecturer, or contact the Exams Team on exams@essex.ac.uk

  • In-person exams: Published on Thursday 10 November 2022 at 3pm
  • Online exams: Published on Thursday 24 November 2022 at 3pm

Christmas Vacation exams:

  • CSEE Year 1 autumn term module exams
  • Economics postgraduate module exams
  • Essex Business School exams for BE431, BE477 and BE515
  • Essex Pathways International Diploma exams
  • HSC Year 1 exams
  • Law Year 1 and 2 French Law module exams
  • Life Sciences Year 1 and 2 autumn term module exams and MCQs
  • Psychology Year 2 and 3 autumn term module exams
  • SRES Year 1 and 2 autumn term module exams and MCQs
  • All exams for Essex Abroad (incoming) autumn term only students (tbc)
  • Resit exams for CSEE MSc courses that started in January 2022 - summer term modules
  • First sit exams for Law MSc courses that started in January 2022 - autumn term modules (except BE283, which runs in week commencing 12 December 2022 and is organised and delivered by the School of Law)
  • Resit exams for Law MSc courses that started in January 2022 - spring term modules.

Tuesday 3 January 2023 – Friday 13 January 2023 (including Saturday 7 January)*

Published on Thursday 24 November 2022 at 3pm
Early exams
(including Life Sciences and SRES MCQs)
Monday 24 April 2023 to Friday 12 May 2023 Published on Friday 17 March 2023 at 3pm
Summer exams

Monday 15 May 2023 to Friday 16 June 2023 (including Saturday 20 May, Saturday 27 May, Saturday 3 June and Saturday 10 June)

Published on Friday 17 March 2023 at 3pm

Resit exams**

Plus first sit exams for CSEE MSc courses that started in January 2023 (summer term modules).

To be confirmed (dependent on reassessment volumes), but expected to be Monday 21 August 2023 – Friday 15 September 2023 (including Saturday 26 August, Saturday 2 September and Saturday 9 September) Publication date tbc (late July/early August 2023)

 

*Exams may run on Saturday 7 January if it is not possible to schedule them on weekdays. Please keep this Saturday available for exams until your personal exam timetable has been confirmed and published. 

**Students may resit exams only when invited or required to do so by the Board of Examiners.

Arrow symbol
Contact us
Student Services Hub
Exams Office