Elections to Council

Becoming a member

View of Colchester Campus lake


The Ballot

  • The membership of Council is defined by Statute 1 and amplified by Ordinance 12.
  • Three of the current members will continue in 2018-19

Current members

The current members of the Council elected by Senate, whose term will continue in 2018-19 are:

Dr Nilufer Demirkan-Jones - Head of Department, Essex Pathways

Professor Andrew Canessa - Head of Department, Sociology

Professor Katharine Rockett - Head of Department, Economics

The Vacancies

The vacancies arise following the completion of term of Professor Nancy Kula, Head of Department, Languages and Linguistics and completion of two terms of Professor Joan Busfield, elected member of Senate.


Nominations are sought from two academic members of Senate to stand for election to Council for the period 2018-19 to 2020-21 (three year term). Nomination forms must be signed by the nominee and by two members of Senate, one of whom must be from a department different from that of the nominee. Nominees are requested to provide a personal statement/brief biography in support of their nomination, in no more than 350 words on the second page of the nomination form.

Nominees are requested to complete an Equality and Diversity monitoring form and Register of Interest declaration. A list of those eligible to stand for election and vote is available for download. Members of Senate who are on study leave in 2018-19 should be able to attend meetings and meet the other requirements of Council membership.


The closing date for nominations is Thursday 7 June 2018. Nomination forms must be received by the Governance Office (Room 5.602 Rab Butler Building) (email elections@essex.ac.uk) by 5pm on that date.

Date of Election

The election will be held from midday Friday 8 June 2018 to midday Friday 22 June 2018. Should a ballot be necessary, ballot information will be sent by email to members of Senate on Friday 8 June. Please note that there will be an electronic ballot only and no paper ballot will be held.

Further information

In accordance with Ordinance 16, the Academic Staff members of Senate elected by Senate to the Council shall constitute the Senate Agenda Group (SAG). SAG meet about a month before each Senate meeting to discuss possible agenda items for discussion under Section A of the Senate agenda, which covers items relating to policy and strategy.

There is a role description for all members of Council (pdf). In addition to the Council Away Days, Council Meetings and induction events, Council members are required to undertake the courses set out in the Essential Training Policy.

Meeting datesĀ 



  • Monday 26 November 2018, 1.30pm-5pm
  • Monday 18 February 2019, 1.30pm-5pm
  • Monday 13 May 2019, 1.30pm-5pm (preceded by Council Away Day 9am-1pm)
  • Thursday 11 July 2019, 1.30pm-5pm (preceded by Council Away Day 9am-1pm)

Council away day

  • Thursday 15 November 2018, 9am-5pm
  • Monday 18 February 2019, 9-5pm (for Strategic Plan) and Monday 26 November 2018, 9-1pm 
  • Monday 13 May 2019, 9am-1pm (followed by Council meeting, as above)
  • Thursday 11 July 2018, 9am-1pm (followed by Council meeting, as above)

Council induction

  • Monday 3 October 2018, 9-5pm
  • Monday 26 November 2018, 9-1pm