Elections to Honorary Degrees and Honorary Fellowships Committee

Becoming a member

Elections to Honorary Degrees and Honorary Fellowships Committee

Nominations were sought to stand for election to the Honorary Degrees and Honorary Fellowships Committee (HDHFC), a Joint Committee of Senate and Council for the period 2020-21 to 2022-23 (three year term). 



Nominations closed on Monday 16 November at 5pm for the following vacancies:

  • one member of non-academic related staff
  • one member of Senate representing the Faculty of Science and Health
Non-academic staff member

Two nominations were received by the deadline and an election will be held from midday 18 November until midday 9 December 2020. The candidates are:

  • Karen Leeder
  • Kate Clayton

A brief biography and personal statement will be available on the ballot form.

Senate Elected member

A second 'call for nominations' closed on Wednesday 25 November 2020.

Outcome of Senate Elected Member, Faculty of Science and Health

One nomination was received by the deadline, therefore we have pleasure in confirming that the Senate elected member for the period 26 November 2020 - 31 July 2023 is:

  • Professor Vicky Joffe


Non-academic staff member

The election will be held from midday Wednesday 18 November 2020 to midday Wednesday 9 December 2020. Electronic ballot forms have been sent to those members of non-academic staff eligible to vote in this election.

Further information

Further information on Honorary Graduates and the committee process can be found on the Honorary Graduates webpage.

The membership and terms of reference for the Joint Committee of Senate and Council can be found on the Council Committee webpage.

Acceptance of the membership of HDHFC is construed as acceptance of the Governor Code of Conduct.

The successful candidate in each election will be required to complete all the Essential Training as set out in the Essential Training Policy prior to the first meeting taking place.

Each successful candidate will be required to submit a personal details form upon appointment.





Meeting dates 

 Meeting date

The formal committee meeting will take place on Monday 22 March 2021, however a Nominations Review will take place early in the Spring term.

The University Steering Group have previously approved that all University meetings will take place by zoom in the academic year 2020-21. An online meeting protocol has been adopted.