Catalyst project

Our governance


The Catalyst Project ended on 30 June 2020. These web pages are no longer updated and have been archived. Read our impact case study about the Catalyst Project to learn more about it.

The project is monitored by the Office for Students and governed by the Catalyst Project Steering Group. The Chair is provided by Dr Alejandro Quiroz Flores, Reader in the Department of Government, University of Essex and Chief Scientific Advisor for Essex County Council.

Project sponsors

  • Professor Maria Fasli, School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering, University of Essex.
  • Richard Puleston, Director of Corporate Strategy, Essex County Council Partner Sponsor.
  • Chris Bally, Director of Corporate Services and Deputy Chief Executive Suffolk County Council Partner Sponsor.

Catalyst Project Steering Group

The group meets bi-monthly.

Martin Hole

Intelligence Hub Lead - Education and Learning, Suffolk County Council

Shammi Jalota

Head of Equality and Diversity, Essex County Council

 Rachel Lucas

Director of Student Life, University of Essex

Professor Gina Yannitell Reinhardt

Evaluation Team Leader

Department of Government, University of Essex

Keith Rowland

Deputy Director of Engagement and Development

Students' Union, University of Essex

Stephanie Itimi

Senior Equalities and Partnerships Adviser, Essex County Council


Terms of reference

Roles and responsibilities can be found within the full terms of reference (available upon request).


The Steering Group reports to the Office for Students.