Athena SWAN equality awards for three departments

  • Date

    Tue 26 May 20

Laughing people

Three more University of Essex departments have qualified for an Athena SWAN Bronze award – proving their commitment to gender equality in the workplace.

The Department of Sociology, Essex Business School and the Department of Psychosocial and Psychoanalytic Studies bring the total number of departments with the award to 10 – the aim is for all departments and schools to hold a Bronze award.

Athena SWAN awards are managed by Advance HE (formerly the Equality Challenge Unit) to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing gender equality in higher education for staff and students. 

Julia Greenwood, the University’s Athena SWAN lead, said: “The accreditation reflects the hard work that goes on in departments to realise our collective commitment to diversity and inclusion.

“Bronze awards recognise that departments and schools have a solid foundation for eliminating gender bias and developing an inclusive culture that values all staff. These efforts are crucial to the University’s ambition to put diversity and inclusion at the heart of everything we do.”

All departments are implementing challenging action plans to ensure they are even more inclusive, respectful and fair.

Professor Neil Kellard, Dean of Essex Business School, said: “Equality is central to research, teaching and professional practice in EBS and we work hard to create an inclusive learning and working environment. 

“The Athena SWAN process has raised awareness of the breadth and depth of gender research conducted across the School and has resulted in plans to establish a new Centre for Research on Gender and Work.

“Through showcasing our research in this area we hope to build new collaborations with business and community groups, and develop our students as gender-aware future business leaders."

Athena SWAN awards are also given at institutional level. The University currently holds a Bronze award and will be submitting an application for a Silver award in November 2021.

The other departments which already have a Bronze award are: Department of History, School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering, School of Health and Social Care, Department of Language and Linguistics, Department of Mathematical Science, School of Life Sciences and Department of Psychology.