Acting students sweep the board at BBC radio awards

  • Date

    Tue 27 Mar 18

Alexandra Constantinidi

Essex students are celebrating success in every category at BBC radio awards that recognise new talent.

BA Acting students at East 15 Acting School have consistently won or been commended in the BBC Carleton Hobbs Bursary Awards, but 2018 marks the first year they’ve been recognised in every single category of the competition. 

As well as winning the overall competition and securing a BBC Radio Drama contract, Alexandra Constantinidi also secured two commendations in the Outstanding Solo Work and Best Sightreading categories.

Further commendations were awarded to Phebe Alys and Catherine Davies for their work in the Best Duologues category. Phebe was also commended in the Best Classic Repertoire Solo section.

Finally, the whole team of Phebe Alys, Alexandra Constantinidi, Catherine Davies and Elliot Munro secured a commendation for outstanding teamwork in the Team category.

Philip Weaver, Head of BA Acting explained what makes radio acting unique: “The radio actor has to be extremely receptive and playful in front of the microphone in order that the smallest nuance of meaning is reflected in their voice, as this is the only means of expression.

“Comparatively, in TV acting the actor is just one part of a set of communication tools which include imagery, music and editing. So, while the actor still has to make clear decisions, nuances of meaning can be added after their performance.”

The BBC Carleton Hobbs Bursary Award – named after one of radio’s most distinguished actors – is part of the Corporation’s (((soundstart))) initiative to find and encourage those starting out in their acting careers.

This year’s panel of judges was chaired by BBC Radio Drama producer Mary Peate who was joined by actor Adrian Scarborough, agent Malcolm Browning, BBC Radio Drama Production Executive Rebecca Wilmshurst and BBC Radio Drama producer Peter Kavanagh.

Past BA Acting winners and commended nominees include Patricia Allison (2017), Joseph Ayre (2016), Andrea Valls (2015) and Roslyn Hill (2014).

Photo: Alexandra Constantinidi, (c) Meurig Marshall.