YERUN sends support to Essex as Article 50 triggered

  • Date

    Thu 30 Mar 17

YERUN (Young European Research Universities Network) brings together 18 European universities established within the last 50 years across 12 EU countries, and included in any of the rankings of universities created in the last 50 years. YERUN, which includes the University of Essex, is established with the aim of promoting joint initiatives in the areas of research, teaching and staff mobility, and becoming the voice of European young universities in Europe.

The British Prime Minister, Theresa May, has invoked Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty which starts the legal process of leaving the European Union. The United Kingdom gives notice to quit the European Union as decided in the referendum of June 2016.

This is the starting point of a process in which the European Union will attempt to negotiate and conclude an agreement with the United Kingdom, setting out the arrangements for the withdrawal and taking account of the framework for the future relationship between the European Union and the United Kingdom.

YERUN has issued a statement extending its "deepest support" to partner institutions in the UK.

The YERUN statement said: "Established to promote research and education links between European universities, YERUN stresses that the network will strive to maintain and grow our existing strong links between universities and partners in the UK and European countries. It is through collaboration that our institutions perform world-class research for the benefit of society. The high impact resulting from these collaborations could never be achieved in isolation."

Professor Anthony Foster, Vice-Chancellor from University of Essex stated: “We really appreciate the support of our partner institutions in YERUN, which shows their commitment to the continuing importance of links between UK and European universities after the UK leaves the EU. Our values at the University of Essex will remain unchanged following the UK Government’s decision to trigger Article 50 of the Treaty of Lisbon- inclusivity and internationalism will remain a the heart of all that we do”.

Professor Andrew George, Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Brunel University London, said “Our institution values its links with universities from the European Union, which are very important for our research and education. We are pleased that the leaders of YERUN universities are committed to carrying on working with us after Brexit, so that we all continue to benefit from cooperation and collaboration across national boundaries”.

  • The University of Essex has also issued a joint statement with the University of East Anglia