

# The Senate

2023-24

Authors: Office of the Vice-Chancellor

Publication date: 1 August 2023

Version: 6.0

## **Table of Contents**

Senate	2
Ex Officio members	2
Appointed	3
Elected Members	3
Co-opted Members	4
Observers	5
Faculty Deans Research	5
Faculty Deans Postgraduate	5
Officers in attendance	5

## **Senate**

### **Ex Officio members**

#### Vice-Chancellor

Professor Anthony Forster

#### **Deputy Vice-Chancellor**

Professor Lorna Fox O'Mahony

#### **Pro-Vice-Chancellors**

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education): Professor Madeline Eacott

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research): Professor Chris Greer

#### **Deans**

Executive Dean (Arts and Humanities): Professor Sanja Bahun

Executive Dean (Science and Health): Professor Maria Fasli

Executive Dean (Social Sciences): Professor John Preston

Partnerships (Research): Professor David O'Mahony

Postgraduate Research and Education: Professor Shane Martin

#### **Heads of Department/School**

Department of Economics, Professor Carlos Carrillo Tudela

Department of Government, Professor Faten Ghosn

Department of Language and Linguistics, Dr Tracey Costley

Department of Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies, Matthew De Abaitua

Department of Psychology, Professor Silke Paulmann

Department of Psychoanalysis and Psychoanalytic Studies: Dr Jessica Battersby

Department of Sociology and Criminology, Professor Linsey McGoey

East 15 Acting School, Dr Chris Main

Senate Page 2 of 5

Edge Hotel School, Andrew Boer

Essex Business School, Professor Claudia Girardone

Essex Law School, Professor Onyeka Osuji

Essex Pathways, Fiona Elsted

Institute for Social and Economic Research: Professor Meena Kumari

School of Health and Social Care, Professor Winifred Eboh

School of Life Sciences, Professor Terence McGenity

School of Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science, Professor Spyridon Vrontos

School of Philosophical, Historical, and Interdisciplinary Studies, Professor Diana Bullen Presciutti

School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering, Professor Reinhold Scherer

School of Sport, Rehabilitation and Exercise Sciences: Professor Nelson Cortes

The UK Data Archive, Joanne Webb

## **Appointed**

Academic Registrar, Richard Stock

## **Elected Members**

Professor Thankom Arun

Professor Fabian Freyenhagen

Professor Hannah Gibson

Dr Georgi Grahovski

Dr Raynee Gutting

Dr Laurie James-Hawkins

Professor Timo Jütten

Dr Olayinka Lewis

Dr Alastair Litterick

Dr Ruth Lowry

Senate Page 3 of 5

Dr Rick O'Gorman

Dr Brandon Reeder

Marcin Rudy

Professor Róisín Ryan-Flood

Dr Christoph Siemroth

Professor Ting Xu

## **Co-opted Members**

Chief Information Officer, Ian Arbuthnot

Director of Library and Cultural Services and University Librarian, Jonathan White

The Dean, Undergraduate Education: Professor Dominic Micklewright

## **Student Members**

President of the Students' Union, Colchester Campus: Kieran Phillips (until 30 June 2024)

Vice-President of the Students' Union (Education): Joe Holmes (until 30 June 2024)

Faculty Convenors (3):

Arts and Humanities: Chloe Jeffery

Science and Health: Adelinna Soare

Social Sciences: Ifeoluwa (Ife) Babatunde

Postgraduate Convenor: Isabella Ciuta

Two student members from within the Sabbatical Officers of the Students' Union nominated for the year by the President of the Students' Union and approved by the Students' Union Trustees:

Quratulain Muzammil (until 30 June 2024)

Oluwanifemi Wilson-Adu (until 30 June 2024)

Senate Page 4 of 5

## **Observers**

Dean of Integrated Health and Care Partnerships: Professor Vicky Joffe

## **Faculty Deans Undergraduate**

Faculty of Arts and Humanities: Dr Anna Hardiman-McCartney

Faculty of Science and Health: Dr Louise Beard

Faculty of Social Sciences: Dr Laurie James-Hawkins

### **Faculty Deans Research**

Acting Faculty of Arts and Humanities: Professor Stavroula Karapapa (from 1 May 2024)

Faculty of Science and Health: Professor Edward Codling

Faculty of Social Sciences: Professor Thankom Arun

### **Faculty Deans Postgraduate**

Faculty of Arts and Humanities: Dr Lisa Smith

Faculty of Science and Health: Professor Leanne Andrews

Faculty of Social Sciences: Dr Allyson Benton

Dean of Partnerships (Education): Dr Annecy Lax

Dean of Postgraduate Taught Education: to be confirmed

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) (Designate): Professor Larra Anderson

## Officers in attendance

Registrar and Secretary: Bryn Morris

Deputy Academic Registrar: Emma Hardy

Senate Page 5 of 5