

Heads of departments, schools and administrative sections

2024-25

Authors: Office of the Vice-Chancellor

Publication date: 1 August 2024

Version: 2.0

Table of Contents

Heads of departments, schools and administrative sections	3
Academic departments and schools	3
Department of Economics	3
Department of Government	3
Department of Language and Linguistics	3
Department of Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies	3
Department of Psychology	3
Department of Psychosocial and Psychoanalytic Studies	3
Department of Sociology and Criminology	3
East 15 Acting School	3
Edge Hotel School	3
Essex Business School	4
Essex Law School	4
Essex Pathways	4
Institute for Social and Economic Research (ISER)	4
School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering	4
School of Health and Social Care	4
School of Life Sciences	4
School of Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science	4
School of Philosophical, Historical, and Interdisciplinary Studies	4
School of Sport, Rehabilitation and Exercise Sciences	4
UK Data Archive	4
Administrative Sections	5

Academic Registrar	5
Campus Manager, Southend Campus	5
Director of Communications and External Relations	5
Chief Financial Officer	5
Director of People and Culture	5
Chief Information Officer	5
Director of Research and Enterprise	5
Director of Library and Cultural Services and University Librarian	E

Heads of departments, schools and administrative sections

Academic departments and schools

Department of Economics

Professor Carlos Carrillo Tudela

Department of Government

Professor Faten Ghosn

Department of Language and Linguistics

Dr Tracey Costley (until 17 December 2024) / Jessie Mallinson (from 18 December 2024)

Department of Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies

Matthew De Abaitua

Department of Psychology

Professor Silke Paulmann

Department of Psychosocial and Psychoanalytic Studies

Acting Head: Dr Jessica Battersby

Department of Sociology and Criminology

Professor Linsey McGoey

East 15 Acting School

Dr Chris Main

Edge Hotel School

Professor Marcus Stephenson

Essex Business School

Professor Claudia Girardone

Essex Law School

Professor Onyeka Osuji

Essex Pathways

Fiona Elsted

Institute for Social and Economic Research (ISER)

Professor Meena Kumari

School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering

Professor Reinhold Scherer

School of Health and Social Care

Professor Winifred Eboh

School of Life Sciences

Professor Terence McGenity

School of Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science

Professor Spyridon Vrontos

School of Philosophical, Historical, and Interdisciplinary Studies

Dr Matthew Grant

School of Sport, Rehabilitation and Exercise Sciences

Professor Nelson Cortes

UK Data Archive

Joanne Webb

Administrative Sections

Academic Registrar

Richard Stock

Campus Manager, Southend Campus

Zoe Manning

Director of Communications and External Relations

Vanessa Potter

Chief Financial Officer

Andrew Keeble

Director of People and Culture

Sara Limerick

Chief Information Officer

Ian Arbuthnot

Director of Research and Enterprise

Dr Robert Singh

Director of Library and Cultural Services and University Librarian

Jonathan White