50 years
Undergraduate Postgraduate taught Postgraduate research Professional development

Search undergraduate

Search postgraduate
taught courses

Search postgraduate

Search professional
development courses

Click 'Search' to view all professional development courses.

What three words do you associate with Essex?

Select the image that matches the one in the box

icon2 icon1 icon2 icon3 icon4

 [Important data protection stuff]

Upcoming open days

Undergraduate Postgraduate
Colchester Campus
None upcoming
Southend Campus
None upcoming
Colchester Campus
None upcoming

Personal details

No open days are available for booking yet. You will be able to book your desired open day online three months before the date.

Tour details

Colchester Campus
Southend Campus

Select the image that matches the one in the box

icon4 icon1 icon2 icon3 icon4

Select the image that matches the one in the box

icon4 icon1 icon2 icon3 icon4

Principal officers of the University

  • Chancellor
    Ms Shami Chakrabarti CBE
  • Pro-Chancellor
    Mrs Judith Judd
  • Pro-Chancellor
    Mr Philip Tolhurst
  • Pro-Chancellor and Chair of Council
    Mr David Boyle MA JP DL
  • Vice-Chancellor
    Professor Anthony Forster BA PGCAP MPhil DPhil AcSS
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor
    Professor Jules Pretty OBE FRSA FIBiol
  • Treasurer
    Mrs Celia Edey JP DL
  • Registrar and Secretary
    Mr Bryn Morris MA
  • Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)
    Professor Aletta Norval BA MA PhD
  • Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
    Professor David Sanders BA MA PhD
  • Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
    Professor Heather Laurie BA PhD
  • Executive Dean (Humanities)
    Professor Lorna Fox O'Mahony LLB PhD PGCHET
  • Executive Dean (Science and Health)
    Professor Graham Underwood BSc DPhil
  • Executive Dean (Social Sciences)
    Professor Todd Landman BA MA MA PhD
  • Dean, Academic Partnerships
    Dr Dominic Micklewright PhD CPsychol MSc BSc PGCertHE FHEA
  • Dean, Postgraduate Research and Education
    Professor David Pevalin MA MA PhD (with effect from 1/1/15)
  • Deputy Dean (Education) (Humanities)
    Dr Peter Luther MA PhD
  • Deputy Dean (Education) (Science and Health)
    Dr David Penman MA MMath MSc PhD
  • Deputy Dean (Education) (Social Science)
    Professor Roderick Main MA PhD
  • Dean of Health
    Professor Joanna Jackson CertED BA MSc EdD MCSP
  • Director of Research Training
    Dr Luis Vasconcelos BA PhD
  • Librarian
    Robert Butler BSc MSc