About us


University of Essex

Membership of Senate

Ex Officio members

Professor Anthony Forster

Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Professor Jules Pretty

Professor Heather Laurie
Professor Aletta Norval

Executive Dean (Humanities): Professor Lorna Fox O’Mahony
Executive Dean (Science and Health): Professor Graham Underwood
Acting Executive Dean (Social Sciences): Professor Sasha Roseneil
Partnerships, Professor Dominic Micklewright
Postgraduate Research and Education, Professor Martyna Sliwa

Heads of Department/School
Biological Sciences, Professor Christine Raines
Computer Science and Electronic Engineering, Professor Simon Lucas
East 15 Acting School, Professor Leon Rubin
Economics, Professor Katharine Rockett
Essex Business School, Professor Geoffrey Wood
Essex Pathways, Dr Nilufer Demirkan-Jones
Government, Professor Lawrence Ezrow
Health and Human Sciences, Vikki-Jo Scott
History, Dr Mark Frost
Language and Linguistics, Professor Nancy Kula
Law, Professor Andrew Le Sueur
Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies, Professor Philip Terry
Mathematical Sciences, Professor Berthold Lausen
Philosophy and Art History, Professor Fabian Freyenhagen
Psychology, Professor Paul Hibbard
Sociology, Professor Sean Nixon
The Institute for Social and Economic Research, Professor Nick Buck
The UK Data Archive, Professor Matthew Woollard

Return to top ]


Academic Registrar, Richard Stock

Elected Members

Dr Ilaria Boncori
Dr Karen Brennan
Dr Malcolm Brynin
Professor Joan Busfield
Professor Edward Codling
Professor Maria Fasli
Dr Michael Fry
Dr Nicolas Geeraert
Dr Valerie Gladwell
Sherrie Green
Dr Timo Jűtten
Dr Chris Main
Professor Roderick Main
Professor Monika Schmid
Dr Stevphen Shukaitis
Professor Gianluigi Vernasca

Co-opted members

University Librarian and Director of Library Services: Cathy Walsh
Director for IT Services: Richard Murphy
Dean of Health: Professor Joanna Jackson
Director of the Centre for Psychoanalytic Studies: Dr Matt ffytche

Return to top ]

Student members

President of the Students' Union, Colchester Campus: Zoe Garshong
Vice-President of the Students' Union (Education), Colchester Campus: Josh Gulrajani
Vice-President (Southend): Ernest Nyarko
Vice-President (Loughton): Mali Rees

Faculty Convenors (3):

  • Humanities: Eseosa Omoruyi
  • Science and Health: Mohab Elbishbishy
  • Social Sciences: Andrei Duma

Postgraduate Students’ Officer: Jess Blair
A Postgraduate Research Student: Andrew McIntosh
A Postgraduate Taught Student: Theodoros Lambrou


Faculty Managers:

  • Humanities: Rachel Lucas
  • Science and Health: Alex Seabrook
  • Social Sciences: to be confirmed

Return to top ]